Simplify… Haircare!

Now, my hair has not been the easiest to look after over the years. I’ve tried countless products ‘designed’ for curly, frizzy, dry, tangled hair. All of which come in ‘ranges’. On each bottle, is the recommendation to use the other products. Now, if the conditioner truly was good for dry hair, why would you need to use special shampoo, cream and serum as well? Each product ruins your hair in such a way that will be solved by using another product. It’s a classic money-making scam. Create a problem and then sell people the solution! And we all constantly fall for it!

Last year, I looked into the ‘no-poo’ method for haircare. It suggests using Sodium Bicarbonate to clean your hair, and Apple Cider Vinegar (ACV) to condition it. I liked the idea – it would be cheap, there wouldn’t be piles of plastic to throw away, and I wouldn’t be giving in to the evils of capitalism! Hooray! As I already had both things at home, I decided to try it out. It went well. It was good for travelling – all I needed was a small bottle of ACV, to be diluted and used as conditioner (1 cup water, 1-3 teaspoons vinegar – test different amounts to see what works best), and some bicarb to scrub. I would then use coconut oil afterwards to keep my hair soft.

As my hair is pretty dry and thick, it doesn’t get visibly greasy for a LONG time. This means I only need to wash it once or twice a week, under normal circumstances. I also save water this way! Also, as we all know, the less you wash your hair, the less you need to. Following this thought, and having read many times about how the hair and skin clean themselves, I wondered what would happen if I started washing my hair, just with water. I was skeptical, as my hair had always been difficult to manage… But I had also always been using so many things to try and manage it.

It has now been months since I switched to just rinsing my hair, and it’s in great condition! I sometimes run about a teaspoon of coconut oil through it (and there’s a lot of it) and massage it into the ends, just so it looks more curly than, well, poofey. Also, if my hair is covered in stronger stuff than a bit of sweat or dirt, I’ll use a bit of soap on it, but that’s it. It’s amazing. I save time, money, packaging, space… the list goes on.

If you have thinner or more greasy hair, you could first of all try washing it slightly less frequently, then switch out what you use to wash it. I recommend the soda and vinegar combination as a good transition from regular products to nothing at all, but then you can enjoy the freedom and laugh in the face of shampoo ads! Trust me, it’s great fun.

Let me know if you try it!

2 thoughts on “Simplify… Haircare!

Leave a Reply

